Louis Roederer Wine Writers’ Awards 2013 winners announced

Winners of the 2013 Louis Roederer International Wine Writers’ Awards have been revealed at a ceremony in London, with Decanter contributor Margaret Rand among those claiming prizes. Rand, who contributes regularly to Decanter Magazine and is also a judge for the Decanter World Wine Awards, won International Wine Feature Writer of the Year.

She beat off competition from a short-list of established wine writers, including John Stimpfig, Tim Atkin, Michael Edwards, Jamie Goode and Joanne Gibson.

Winners of the 2013 awards were announced during a lavish ceremony of Champagne and canapes at the Royal Academy of Arts last night (September 10).

Among the other winners was photographer Jon Wyand, also a regular contributor to Decanter and who claimed the Artistry of Wine Award.

Speaking to decanter.com after the ceremony, Rand said; ‘It’s very exciting, because it’s judged by one’s peers. The competition now is really stiff.’

The results represent something of a repeat of 2009, when Rand and Wyand both claimed the same equivalent prizes. Rand has also previously won Champagne writer of the year.


The full list of 2013 winners is:

Artistry of wine award: John Wyand – various, including Decanter

Emerging wine writer of the year: Ella Lister – World of Fine Wine

Online wine columnist / blogger of the year: Blake Gray – wblakegray.com

International website of the year: Tim Atkin – timatkin.com

International wine book of the year: Wine Grapes – Jancis Robinson OBE MW, Julia Harding MW, Jose Vouillamoz

International wine columnist of the year: Francis Percival – World of Fine Wine

International wine feature writer of the year: Margaret Rand – Decanter, Drinks Business, World of Fine Wine

Read more HERE